Nashville Personal Injury Lawyers Talk Insurance Claims
Dealing with insurance companies after an automobile accident can be an exercise in frustration. This is especially true if you are suffering from injuries that require ongoing medical attention. It is not uncommon for an insurer to deny your claim or to stop authorizing medical care in spite of the fact that you still require care. This is when you should consider contacting Nashville personal injury lawyers who are accustomed to dealing with insurance companies.
When You Are The Victim
Under Tennessee laws, all automobile operators are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury when they are involved in an accident. As a victim, you have the option of filing a claim with your insurance company and having them pursue the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Additionally, you may wish to file a claim with the other driver’s insurer or file a personal injury lawsuit. You have the option to use any or all of these methods for collecting damages for your injuries.
Unfortunately, while $25,000 may sound like a sufficient amount of coverage, it is quite possible that your medical expenses could be significantly more after a car accident. It is for this reason that we suggest people file a personal injury suit as quickly as possible after an automobile accident.
Why Filing Early Is So Important
Tennessee, like most other states has a statute of limitations. This means that the time to file a lawsuit is limited. In most car accident claims, a personal injury lawsuit must be filed within one year of the accident. Make no mistake about it, insurance companies are very aware of this and while they may pay for your medical care after an accident before this one-year period expires, some will start rejecting claims after the fact.
While Tennessee is a comparative fault state – meaning that your overall claim will be reduced by any percentage that you are at fault for the accident – you still have certain rights including having your medical care after an automobile accident paid for.
If you are a victim of a car accident and are uncertain about your rights under Tennessee personal injury laws, contact Mitch Grissim & Associates immediately. We will review your case and we will help you decide the best way to proceed.